Steer Wrestling, Tie-Down Roping Speed Up as the 2021 Rodeo Enters Final Days

SAN ANGELO, TX — Bull rider Jeff Askey had a high flying performance, literally. This video opens with him atop a bunch of air after departing the back of a bull.

Fast and high flying were not only the themes in bull riding but also in tie-down roping. For example, you can watch above Haven Meged, a roper from Miles City, Montana. Following a first run in the teens he had nothing to lose. He came through with a 7.2-second run on Saturday night, besting Tuf Cooper's fastest time of the rodeo by a tenth of a point.

Back to bull riding, six-time NFR qualifier Sage Steele Kimzey rode his way into a tie for third place thanks to an 88-point ride on a young Rafter H bull.

In steer wrestling, everyone is chasing the overall leader Gavin Swallow. Jacob Edler, the reigning world champ, notched a 4.5-second time to move him into a tie for third overall. Meanwhile, Jacob Talley, the current #1 bull dogger in the world, came close to moving past the 2021 San Angelo Rodeo leader Gavin Swallow. He needed better than 3.9 seconds but came up with 4.3 seconds and sits only a few tenths of a second behind behind the leader in the second slot.

The fastest time of the performance came from T.J. Hall. His 3.7-second time was solid but not enough to overcome his previous time. The times from runs are added together that determine a bull dogger's place in the rodeo. His first run time keeps him out of the Top 12 and the finals, but this run certainly gives him a confidence boost heading into his next rodeo. After his run, Manny Diaz went one-on-one with Hall who talked his fast 3.7 second time and what it's going to take to win this rodeo. This steer wrestling coverage is presented by Dierschke and Dierschke Realtors.

The next rounds of Rodeo pick up again on Wednesday night, April 21. Here are the standings as of the end of the 8th performance on Saturday, April 17:

Bareback riding leaders: 1. Cole Franks, 88 points on Macza Pro Rodeo’s Hot Flash; 2. (tie) Tilden Hooper and Zach Hibler, 87; 4. Caleb Bennett, 86.5; 5. Tim O’Connell, 86; 6. Chad Rutherford, 85.5; 7. (tie) Luke Creasy and Garrett Shadbolt, 85; 9. Kaycee Field, 84.5; 10. Cauy Pool, 84; 11. Kody Lamb, 83; 11. (tie) Tanner Aus, Bill Tutor, Jamie Howlett and Hunter Carter, 82.

Steer wrestling: First round leaders: 1. Jesse Brown, 3.4 seconds; 2. (tie) Brandon Harrison, Jacob Edler and Jacob Talley, 3.5; 5. (tie) Dakota Eldridge, Gavin Soileau and Kalane Anders, 3.6; 8. (tie) Tyler Waguespack and Cody Devers, 3.7. Second round leaders: 1. (tie) Tyler Pearson and Kyle Irwin, 3.6; 3. T.J. Hall, 3.7; 4. (tie) Jay Williamson, Cody Moore, Gavin Soileau, Termaine Debose and Cody Harmon, 3.8 seconds. Average leaders: 1. Gavin Soileau, 7.4 seconds on two runs; 2. Jacob Talley, 7.8; 3. (tie) Jesse Brown, Jacob Edler and Cade Stanton, 8.0; 6. (tie) Taz Olson and Nick Guy, 8.1; 8. (tie) Shane Frey, Billy Boldon and Ryan McKay Nettle, 8.2; 11. (tie) Cody Devers, Remey Parrott and Tory Johnson, 8.3.

Team roping: First round leaders: 1. Jake Orman/Brye Crites, 3.9 seconds; 2. Coy Rahlmann/Douglas Rich, 4.0; 3. (tie) Cody Snow/Wesley Thorp and Chad Masters/Joseph Harrison, 4.2; 5. (tie) Clay Smith/Jade Corkill, Cooper White/Tucker White and Kaleb Driggers/Junior Nogueira, 4.3; 8. Hayes Smith/Justin Davis, 4.4. Second round leaders: 1. (tie) Dustin Eguisquiza/Travis Graves and Cyle Denison/Brady Norman, 3.5; 3. (tie) Clay Tryan/Jake Long and Andrew Ward/Buddy Hawkins, 3.6; 5. Jr. Dees/Rich Skelton, 3.7; 6. Erich Rogers/Paden Bray, 3.8; 7. Clint Summers/Rosh Ashford, 3.9; 8. (tie) Kal Fuller/Coleby Payne and Wyatt Muggli/Casey McCleskey, 4.0. Average leaders: 1. Jake Orman/Brye Crites, 8.2 seconds on two runs; 2. Clay Tryan/Jake Long, 8.4; 3. Coy Rahlmann/Douglas Rich, 9.5; 4. Clay Smith/Jade Corkill, 8.6; 5. Aaron Tsinigine/Kyle Lockett, 8.9; 6. Cooper White/Tucker White, 9.0; 7. Cody Snow/Wesley Thorp, 9.4; 8. Brenten Hall/Chase Tryan, 10.0; 9. Cory Clark/Wyatt Cox, 10.8; 10. Jaguar Terrill/Sid Sporer, 11.0; 9. Wyatt Muggli/Casey McCleskey, 13.8; 11. Dustin Egusquiza/Travis Graves, 12.5; 12. Chad Masters/Joseph Harrison, 13.6.

Saddle bronc riding leaders: 1. Kolby Wanchuck, 86 points on Hampton Pro Rodeo’s Desert Stomper; 2. Jacobs Crawley, 84; 3. (tie) Cort Scheer, Isaac Diaz and Jarrod Hammons, 83.5; 6. (tie) Allen Boore, Chase Brooks and Sage Newman, 83; 9. Lucas Macza, 82.5; 10. Cash Michael Wilson, 82; 11. Brody Cress, 81.5; 12. (tie) Mitch Pollock, Taos Muncy and Tyrel Larsen, 81.

Tie-down roping: First round leaders: 1. Tuf Cooper, 7.3 seconds; 2. Bradley Bynum, 7.5; 3. Tanner Green, 7.6; 4. Shad Mayfield, 7.7; 5. Reid Zapalac, 7.9; 6. Riley Pruitt, 8.0; 7. (tie) Kincade Henry, Beau Cooper, Seth Cooke and J.D. McCuistion, 8.1. Second round leaders: 1. Haven Meged, 7.2 seconds; 2. Sy Felton, 7.4; 3. Clint Robinson, 7.8; 4. Cooper Martin, 8.0; 5. (tie) Tuf Cooper and Caleb Smidt, 8.1; 7. Trent Creager, 8.2; 8. Colten Wallis, 8.3. Average leaders: 1. Tuf Cooper, 15.4 seconds on two runs; 2. Cooper Martin, 16.6; 3. Seth Cooke, 17.1; 4. Shad Mayfield, 17.3; 5. Garrett Jacobs, 17.4; 6. (tie) Jake Booze and Beau Cooper, 18.0; 8. Chance Thiessen, 18.2; 9. (tie) John Clark and Sy Felton, 18.3; 11. Westyn Hughes, 18.4; 12. Reese Riemer, 18.5.

Barrel racing: Second round leaders: 1. Dona Kay Rule, 14.17 seconds; 2. (tie) Michelle Alley and Lacinda Rose, 14.22 seconds; 4. Cheyenne Wimberley, 14.27; 5. (tie) Megan Champion and Stephanie Fryar, 14.28; 7. Bristan Kennedy, 14.32; 8. Alex Lang, 14.35; 9. (tie) Kelly Bruner and Jimmie Smith, 14.36. Average leaders: 1. Dona Kay Rule, 30.08 seconds on two runs; 2. Cheyenne Wimberley, 30.15; 3. Megan Champion, 30.24; 4. Kelly Bruner, 30.28; 5. Bristan Kennedy, 30.43; 6. Stephanie Fryar, 30.47; 7. Michelle Alley, 30.49; 8. Ivy Saebens, 30.53; 9. Randee Prindle, 30.55; 10. (tie) Alex Lang and Latricia Mundorf, 30.56; 12. Keyla Polizello Costa, 30.62.

Bull riding leaders: 1. Boudreaux Campbell, 92.5 points on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Oyster Bayou; 2. Laramie Mosley, 89; 3. (tie) Trey Benton III and Sage Kimzey, 88; 5. Jace Trosclair, 87; 6. Wyatt Gregg, 86.5; 7. Maverick Potter, 86; 8. Shawn Bennett Jr., 85.5; 9. Joao Veiera, 85; 10. (tie) Josh Frost and Chris Bechtold, 84.5; 12. Tyler Bingham, 84.5.

Subscribe to the LIVE! Daily

The LIVE! Daily is the "newspaper to your email" for San Angelo. Each content-packed edition has weather, the popular Top of the Email opinion and rumor mill column, news around the state of Texas, news around west Texas, the latest news stories from San Angelo LIVE!, events, and the most recent obituaries. The bottom of the email contains the most recent rants and comments. The LIVE! daily is emailed 5 days per week. On Sundays, subscribers receive the West Texas Real Estate LIVE! email.



Post a comment to this article here:

X Close