Angelo State University Orchestra's First Concert of the Season is Free Thursday


SAN ANGELO – The Angelo State University Symphony Orchestra will present its first concert of the fall 2022 season on Thursday, Oct. 6, at First Presbyterian Church, 32 N. Irving St. in downtown San Angelo.

Titled "A Night in Vienna," the concert will begin at 7 p.m. and is free and open to the public.

The program will feature the music of three of the greatest Viennese composers: Ludwig van Beethoven, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Antonio Salieri.

The Symphony Orchestra will be accompanied on piano by Hunter Mabery, ASU staff accompanist, and the concert will feature solo performances on baritone by Jesse Rios of San Angelo, winner of ASU's 2022 Concerto Competition.

The musical program will include:

  • "Overture to La Fiera di Venezia" by A. Salieri
  • "Non piu andrai" from "The Marriage of Figaro" by W.A. Mozart
  • "Concerto for Piano in A Major" by W.A. Mozart
  • "Symphony No. 1 in C Major" by L. van Beethoven

The ASU Symphony Orchestra includes over 40 student musicians and is directed by Dr. Fagner Magrinelli Rocha, assistant professor of music.

Subscribe to the LIVE! Daily

The LIVE! Daily is the "newspaper to your email" for San Angelo. Each content-packed edition has weather, the popular Top of the Email opinion and rumor mill column, news around the state of Texas, news around west Texas, the latest news stories from San Angelo LIVE!, events, and the most recent obituaries. The bottom of the email contains the most recent rants and comments. The LIVE! daily is emailed 5 days per week. On Sundays, subscribers receive the West Texas Real Estate LIVE! email.


Most Recent Videos

Post a comment to this article here:

X Close