Angelo State University Fraternity Wins Regional Award


SAN ANGELO, TX – Angelo State University’s Eta Theta chapter of the Delta Sigma Pi (DSP) national professional business fraternity has received the 2019-20 Outstanding Financial Operations Award for a Collegiate Chapter for DSP’s Southwestern Region.

The award was announced during DSP’s recent 2020 Fall Virtual Leadership and Excellence Academy for Deltasigs (LEAD) event. The Outstanding Financial Operations Award is presented annually to one chapter in each region that plans and implements the most effective and comprehensive program of fundraising and financial management.

This marks the second straight year that ASU’s chapter has won the Outstanding Financial Operations Award for the Southwestern Region, which also includes student chapters at Baylor University, Texas Christian University, University of North Texas and the University of Texas-Arlington, as well as a general Dallas Area alumni chapter.

“The students have worked hard, and it’s exciting to see them be recognized for excellence in operational finances,” said Gayle Randall, senior instructor in management/marketing and DSP faculty advisor. “Our Eta Theta chapter members are really committed to putting forth their best effort in all they do, and the recognition continues to motivate them. Their drive for excellence says so much about both the values they learn in the Norris-Vincent College of Business and the expectations that they set for themselves. It’s truly an honor to be involved with such motivated, devoted and successful students!”

As a regional winner, ASU’s chapter is now eligible to compete for Outstanding Financial Operations Awards at the provincial and national levels that will be announced next spring. ASU also won the award for the South Central Province last year. 

The ASU chapter is also competing for its third straight national award. After having not won a national award since 1985, ASU won the 2017-18 Most Improved Collegiate Chapter Award and the 2018-19 R. Nelson Mitchell Outstanding Collegiate Chapter Award.

ASU’s Eta Theta chapter has more than 45 members, and the student president is Henry (Clayton) Kammlah of Jarrell. Former president Cody Vasquez of Midland, who graduated in May with his Master of Business Administration (MBA) degree, was named DSP’s 2020 National Collegian of the Year.

The ASU chapter was also honored on campus this summer at the Student Government Association’s 2019-20 Rammy Awards. The chapter won for Academic/Professional Organization of the Year, and Randall was named Advisor of the Year.

Subscribe to the LIVE! Daily

The LIVE! Daily is the "newspaper to your email" for San Angelo. Each content-packed edition has weather, the popular Top of the Email opinion and rumor mill column, news around the state of Texas, news around west Texas, the latest news stories from San Angelo LIVE!, events, and the most recent obituaries. The bottom of the email contains the most recent rants and comments. The LIVE! daily is emailed 5 days per week. On Sundays, subscribers receive the West Texas Real Estate LIVE! email.


Most Recent Original Videos


Post a comment to this article here:

X Close